Back to All Events

Death of the Symphony

  • First Presbyterian Church Concert Hall 1820 15th Street Boulder, CO 80302 United States (map)

Johannes Brahms - Symphony No. 4

George Gershwin - Piano Concerto in F
International Piano Odyssiad Competition Winner - Dongni Xie, pianist

Jonathan Sokol - World Premiere

Pre-Concert Talk at 6:15 PM


The Boulder Symphony kicks off a stellar season with Johannes Brahms’ fourth and final symphony. This is Brahms’ most passionate and furious symphonic creation, and his last will and testament to the joys, sorrows and angers he endured throughout his life.

From his tumultuous relationships with women, to being ridiculed and left behind by his peers in the composing world, Brahms' agonies are stated once and for all in what he knew would be his last symphony. Join us for a night to be remembered as we hear the last word from the last great classicist.

We’ve prepared an exciting concert including the Concerto in F by George Gershwin, played by this year’s International Odyssiad Piano Competition winner, Dongni Xie. And with the death of one symphonic work comes the birth of a new one.

Boulder Symphony is proud to present a world premiere of a new work from composer Jonathan Sokol. Every of the Time is a curious mixture of inspiration, including comedy, cinema, popular media, coffee, and current concert classical conventions, all under the umbrella of fanfare.

The Death of the Symphony will be an event you do not want to miss! 

Tickets can be purchased online at the link below or at the door.



Earlier Event: September 30
Destiny's March: 2017-18 Season