Back to All Events

Composing The End

  • Boulder Symphony Concert Hall in First Presbyterian Church 1820 15th Street Boulder, CO, 80302 United States (map)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 6 Pathétique

Franz Liszt - Piano Concerto No. 1
- Featuring Cody Garrison, Piano

Jonathan Bingham - QuaternityWorld Premiere

Pre-Concert Talk at 6:15 PM with Devin Patrick Hughes, Jonathan Bingham, and Cody Garrison

We are proud to kickstart the program with a world premiere of an orchestral work by Johnathan Bingham followed by a performance of Franz Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1 by Boulder Symphony’s own star piano virtuoso, Cody Garrison. Liszt composes with a seemingly insurmountable technical difficulty for both the piano and orchestra, and Garrison is sure to deliver a stunning performance you will not want to miss! 

We end the evening with Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique, or “Passionate Symphony,” his sixth and final symphony. In the composer’s own words, this work, “is my best and most sincere of all my works…and I have put my whole soul into it.” Tchaikovsky died only nine days after the first performance of this symphony, which he conducted on the 28th of October 1893. The triumphs and passions of his 4th and 5th symphonies can be found in his well-known, fiery Russian flare, but in this work, Tchaikovsky composes his final breath of life in the most heart-wrenching of all symphonic experiences the world has ever known.

Tickets can be purchased online at the link below or at the door.  Ticket purchases are non-refundable.



Later Event: March 22
Preview Concert: La Traviata